Home » News & Journals » Capsule Reviews

Capsule Reviews

Reviews of new and interesting photography related products.
August 18, 2011
REVIEW: ToughTech Duo QR


Introduction


The ToughTech Duo QR external RAID hard drive from WiebeTech is versatility in a box. It offers the choice between RAID 0 and RAID 1 formats as well as four different connection options. In addition, you can use the device with one of four different power plug adapters depending on your country’s requirements. It is compatible with Windows (7/XP/Vista/2000), Mac OS X, and Linus operating systems. [MORE]


Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on August 18, 2011 13:50 
Last updated by: on August 18, 2011 14:07

May 20, 2011

REVIEW: Dropbox File Sharing

{QPH:01}If you've ever had trouble figuring out how to share large files with friends, family, clients... or perhaps transferring from one computer to another... or even simply keeping a backup, then you should check out the free online service from Dropbox. The cloud is all the rage these days and with internet speeds being what they are, the ability to store your files in a central online repository makes a load of sense. [MORE]

Keywords: dropbox  review  
Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on May 20, 2011 10:01 
Last updated by: on May 20, 2011 13:31

May 12, 2010

StarTech.com eSATA II ExpressCard

{QPH:01}Backups are important for any computer user, but especially priceless for photographers. The aggregate size of our precious photos can get astronomical very quickly. RAW files can be up to 16MB or even larger. Photoshop edits with their many layers can be hundreds of megabytes each. We easily eat up gigabytes of disk space like they were M&Ms. While the price of storage has gone down, most of us have been stuck with the slowness of DVD burning or transferring files to external drives via USB 2.0. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on May 12, 2010 17:14 
Last updated by: on May 12, 2010 17:14

January 21, 2010

Crumpler 8 Million Dollar Home

photographyvoice.com Review Haiku
Need a Messenger?
8 Million Dollar Home Bag
Offers space galore.
 [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on January 21, 2010 14:12 
Last updated by: on January 21, 2010 14:17

December 08, 2009

Buffalo LinkStation Mini

photographyvoice.com Review Haiku
LinkStation Mini
Always on, Always ready
Dependable drive
 [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on December 08, 2009 16:07 

December 01, 2009

2009 Holiday Gift Guide

If you’re like me, when your wife or loved one comes up to you and wants to know what to get you for Christmas, you have no idea what to say. Either our hobby is too expensive, we get everything we want throughout the year anyway, or we just forget about some of the neat and functional gadgets that might make our hobby or vocation just a little bit more fun.

So to that end, photographyvoice.com presents some of the cooler tools and devices out there that you might consider jotting down on your Christmas wishlist. If you’ve not been too naughty that is! [MORE]

Keywords: pv  holiday  
Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on December 01, 2009 13:30 
Last updated by: on December 01, 2009 14:37

November 25, 2009

OCZ Gold Series SDHC 16GB

{QPH:01}There are two schools of thought when it comes to selecting memory cards for your camera. One is to carry a lot of smaller capacity cards with the reasoning that if one card fails, you only lose that card’s images. The other way is to go for it and get the biggest and fastest card your camera can support. If you’re like me, you go for big and fast and the OCZ Gold-Series SDHC cards allow you to do just that. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on November 25, 2009 13:23 
Last updated by: on November 25, 2009 13:28

WinRecovery CardRecovery

{QPH:01}Most of us have a device for backing up the data and irreplaceable photo's we've captured and scanned through the years. If you don't you then really should. But what do you do when the original images and/or data stored on your media card never even make it to the hard drive? When the media card itself becomes corrupt and refuses access to the images stored within? [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on November 25, 2009 12:55 
Last updated by: on November 25, 2009 13:00

November 04, 2009

Naneu Military Ops Alpha

A couple of months ago I had to make a quick overnight trip where I wanted to take my camera, but also take the necessary change of clothes and gear for a hotel stay. Rather than take a small camera bag and travel duffel, I simply used my Military Ops Alpha camera backpack from Naneu Pro. With the Alpha I was able to carry my body and four lenses as well as other accessories in the padded adjustable camera area as well as my personal overnight needs in the large upper compartment. And there was plenty of room to spare for batteries, chargers, flashes, and more. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on November 04, 2009 13:25 
Last updated by: on November 04, 2009 13:25

July 27, 2009

Rick Sammon On-Location Lighting Kit and Tote

{IPH:01}The Rick Sammon On-Location Lighting Kit and Tote is an invaluable addition to any photographer’s collection of gear: both for on-location shooting as well as the studio. The Kit includes a 30” square diffuser panel, 30” square reflector panel, Micro Apollo flash mounted modifier, and carrying case. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on July 27, 2009 14:32 
Last updated by: on July 27, 2009 14:46

July 21, 2009

ProShow Producer 4

{QPH:01}{IPH:01}Have you ever found yourself with a boatload of photos that you want to share with others, but you don’t want or need to go through the hassle of creating a website with thumbnails, full versions, etc.? Have you wanted to really wow your clients with a professional slideshow presentation of their images? Then you’re going to love ProShow Producer 4 by Photodex. [MORE]

Keywords: slideshow  presentation  photodex  proshow  
Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on July 21, 2009 14:35 
Last updated by: on July 21, 2009 14:55

July 06, 2009

Advanced Digital Photography with Photoshop CS4

{IPH:01}Several weeks ago I was asked to take part in a continuing education course offered by UCLA Extension. The cool thing was this course was on “Advanced Digital Photography with Photoshop [CS4]”. Even cooler was that this was one of several Extension courses offered online so I could participate 2000 miles away in Atlanta. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on July 06, 2009 13:55 
Last updated by: on July 06, 2009 14:02

RocketLife.com

{IPH:01}RocketLife.com is an up and coming online printing service targeted to one-off and occasional printers rather than professional volume ordering. Recently I was invited to take a test drive of the service and this is what I experienced… [MORE]

Keywords: printing  
Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on July 06, 2009 10:58 
Last updated by: on July 06, 2009 11:06

February 13, 2009

Adobe Photoshop CS4

{IPH:01}I’m going to write this review of Adobe’s Photoshop CS4 completely backwards. Instead of taking the product apart bit by bit and then pronouncing sentence on it on way of a rating, I’m going to just state flat out that you should buy it. Of course since it came out in September, you may already have, but if you haven’t: go get it. As a full version, it’s highly recommended. As an upgrade from CS3 or earlier, it’s highly recommended. As an upgrade from some other company’s product, it’s extremely highly recommended. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on February 13, 2009 00:04 
Last updated by: on February 13, 2009 00:37

December 03, 2008

50 Lighting Setups For Portrait Photographers

{IPH:01}It’s been said that professional photographers worry only about the light. Admittedly, through light we not only expose our subjects but conceal them, reveal character, and create mood. In Steven H Begleiter’s book “50 Lighting Setups for Portrait Photographers” he breaks through the textbook jargon to deliver exactly what he promises in the title. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on December 03, 2008 18:08 
Last updated by: on December 03, 2008 18:09

November 17, 2008

Sanyo eneloop Batteries

{QPH:01}Finding good, reliable batteries for your flash or camera is never an easy task. Having them charged and ready at a moment's notice is even harder. Regular akaline batteries start strong, but become spent rather quickly. Regular rechargable batteries are great for investment and reuse, but hold their charge less than akalines. In addition, when you buy them they're "dead", requiring time-consuming initial charging. [MORE]

Article posted by: Kevin L. Kitchens on November 17, 2008 15:54 
Last updated by: on December 03, 2008 14:59


Page generated in 00.0046 seconds.

From the
POTD Archive

Click to view larger version.
A Labyrinth of Squares
Tom Briggs

Click to view larger version.
Blue Jay
Pam Silvester

Click to view larger version.
Anticipating the Warmth
Dave Lamb

Click to view larger version.
Mini Donkey
Stacey Bates

Click to view larger version.
Evening walk
Remco Rog

Copyright © 2000-2020 photographyvoice.com / PEI Development. All Rights Reserved.